If you want to buy cannabis in Miami, there are several things that you need to know.
The state of Florida legalized medical marijuana in November of 2016 via Florida Amendment 2 and there are now legal dispensaries all over the state.
Currently, you must have a debilitating medical condition to purchase weed in the state legally. The qualifying conditions for medical marijuana patients include:
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those listed
- Terminal illness
- Chronic nonmalignant pain
You must obtain a doctor’s certification before you can purchase cannabis from a dispensary. A physical exam is necessary, as is a full examination of your medical history. If you are a minor, your parent must seek this certification on your behalf.
Currently, Florida does not allow out-of-state medical marijuana cardholders to purchase cannabis products.
Medical Possession Amounts
If you’re a qualified MMJ patient, you may possess up to a 70-day supply of cannabis in smokable form. Everything must be bought from a licensed dispensary and remain in the packaging it was purchased in.
How much your 70-day supply contains is up to your doctor, but if it’s in smokable form, a 35-day order from your doctor cannot be more than 2.5 ounces at a time. You may possess no more than 4 ounces of smokable MMJ at any given time.
Possession Limits In Florida
If you have less than 20 grams of weed on you, the charge is a misdemeanor with a maximum of 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine. More than 20 grams, though, and you’re looking at 5 years and a $5,000 fine.
Possession of hash is a felony, as is possession of concentrates without a medical card.
Possession Limits In Miami-Dade County & Miami Beach
You can possess up to 20 grams of cannabis in Miami-Dade County and Miami Beach if you’re willing to pay a $100 fine if you get caught with it.