Virginia has become the first southern state to legalize marijuana-but not yet. The bill approval was announced by Governor Ralph Northam earlier this year that by 2024 weed would be legal for people twenty-one and older.
In an article statement released to News 13 in Richmond, Virginia, April 7th, 2021, the date to legally buy weed in VA has been moved up to July 1st, 2021! It will be legal for people twenty-one and over to purchase state-wide! You will be able to get marijuana from any licensed dispensary in the state!
How To Buy Weed In Virginia
As of April 7th, 2021, it was released by the state’s Governor that as of July 1st, 2021, Marijuana will be legal to smoke and purchase. The law will be those 21 and over will be able to buy and possess up to one ounce of weed. As long as you're over that age, you'll be able to buy recreational weed from any licensed dispensary in the state.
How Old Do You Have To Be To Buy Weed In Virginia?
As of July 1st, 2021, you will need to be twenty-one and over to legally smoke and buy pot. According to a last-minute amendment in the State of Virginia, if you are under the age of twenty-one are caught smoking or have possession of weed, you will be fined a $25 fee. You will have to attend a substance abuse and education program in state law. Now, when it comes to medical marijuana, you can be under the age of eighteen to get it, but only with a parent or guardian acting on your behalf. To get a MMC in Virginia, you will need to be a legal resident of the state and provide proof.
Is Weed Legal In Virginia?
Only Medical Marijuana is legal as of the springtime of 2020. Recreational weed will be permitted as of July 1st, 2021. The state of Virginia decriminalized weed in 2020, making it to where if you are caught with up to an ounce of weed, you were only charged a $25 fine, and it didn’t go on your record. Any age caught with a pound or more can serve up to 10 years in prison and a $250,000 fine!
Where Can I Smoke Weed In Virginia?
Medical marijuana cardholders may smoke on private property and need to have their MMC on hand at all times. Driving under the influence of weed is against the law. When traveling with medical marijuana, it should be in a closed container in your vehicle’s glove box or trunk. Gov. Northam’s administration says that they are still working out the details to have everything ready by July 1st, 2021, where you can and can’t smoke recreational weed.
Where To Get Medical Marijuana In Virginia
Medical marijuana is to be purchased from any licensed dispensary in the state of Virginia. To get an MMC (medical marijuana card), you must have it prescribed by a state-licensed doctor.
How To Grow Your Own Weed In Virginia
So far, it is very vague on what will be legal to grow your weed. All the state is releasing is that it is legal to grow up to four plants for each household. Marijuana plants will need to be out of view of the public eye, and precautions will have to occur to ensure no unauthorized access to your plants.